Women’s language

Women really do talk more than men. (Agreed)

It has been claimed that women speak about 20,000 words a day – 13,000 more than the average man – and scientists say a higher amount of the Foxp2 protein is the reason women are more chatty (1)

Women use metaphors, analogies, nothing is spoken directly, questions are rhetoric and everything has multiple meanings. Men are basic, women are details. Details, details, details…If you don’t got the details, do not talk to a woman :-p (2)

Why so suddenly I bring up this issue? Am not trying to create gender war here.

It was after reading Sophie Kinsella’s I’ve Got Your Number, I’ve double agreed with the fact.  

Ok here, I quote some phrases from the book. 

Poppy sent a text message to her fiance after found out that he cheated on her.

“Hi. How are you doing? P”

Short and simple. Men might think the question is direct to the point. Indeed, there’s a question behind the question.

Here’s the explanation from Poppy. 

Hi means, Hi, have you been unfaithful? Have you? Please, PLEASE don’t let this be true.

How means, I really wish you would ring me. I know you’re on your stag do, but it would reassure me so much to hear your voice and know that you love me and you couldn’t do such thing.

Are means, Oh God, I can’t bear it. What if it’s true? What will I do? What will I say? But, then, what if it’s NOT true and I’ve suspected you for no good reason- (3)

So, now do you understand women’s language? 😀

sl_wmn_cmpl

Sources

(1): http://www.dailymail.co.uk/sciencetech/article-2281891/Women-really-talk-men-13-000-words-day-precise.html#ixzz2SjYobgyn)
(2): http://www.toptenz.net/top-ten-dangerous-words-and-phrases-women-love-to-use.php#ixzz2SjbWKpN2

(3) I've Got Your Number (Sophie Kinsella), page 285  
10 thoughts on “Women’s language

Leave a Reply

