Temptation #13: Kek Batik

I bet everybody knows about Kek Batik (Batik Cake).

And even can bake it because it’s the simplest cake ever. As my friend told me, it’s a bodo-bodo cake.

Honestly, I didn’t know how to bake the cake. I like Kek Batik, but never intended to make one for myself.

It was my mom insisted to bake the Kek Batik, since there are leftovers of Marie Biscuits and one tin of Milo.

I told mom, I don’t know how to bake it. She asked me to flipped through her recipe book.

Well I didn’t. I asked my sister (she was pro in baking.. ahaha), unfortunately she was still busy.

So I asked my friends in the office. Everyone claimed that it was an eaasy peaaasy cake.

Given a choice whether to bake a cake or baking biscuits, I’d rather choose biscuits.

Baking cakes is really not my field. I’m lame in this part.

Luckily my friend Freda, taught me the recipe.

Back on the story of yesterday, I baked the cake at 4am. (Baked in the freezer, LOL)

After coming from work, I sneaked peeked at my cake.

C360_2013-06-1417-49-12_zps7375087d

Looks nice…. There are Batik textures…

But then, don’t judge a book by it cover.

When I tried to bite a bit, oh no… it’s too sweet.

C360_2013-06-1500-34-51_zps34c26347

DearDear said, he can still taste the crunchiest of Milo inside.

I remember I didn’t wait long while stirred the Milo and butter, and I add in too much sugar and milk.

Overall, the result’s still FAILED!

Baking is just not suitable to my hand. 😦

2 thoughts on “Temptation #13: Kek Batik

  1. My daughter loves this. Depends on how nice the chocolate is. Here, at my regular kueh stall in Bandong, they sell kek batik using Horlicks and condensed milk. Very very nice…but colour not very attractive.

    • The original recipe was using Horlicks. I couldn’t find any horlicks in my home so I just skip them. Probably because of that my cake not so moist. Found that, your daughter and I have many similar interest. 🙂

Leave a Reply

