Selfood moment #3: Cafe Rumah Hijau

The first time I went to the Cafe Rumah Hijau was around last month. I was craving for Nasi Ayam Penyet and heard that Rumah Hijau has the best Nasi Ayam Penyet in town.

  

So I went to have dinner there. When I arrived, the staff told me the Nasi Ayam Penyet only served on daytime. At night they would served Western Cuisines. A bit frustrated then, so I ordered Grilled Chicken Chop instead. Well, the taste was quite good compared to the one that I ordered from Sharing Planet. I love the soft mashed potato, the fresh salad and the juicy chicken meat.  Overall, I’m quite satisfied with this menu. 

  

I love the concept of decorations in Rumah Hijau. It made us feels like at home. Amani enjoying the nook where she loves to sit and lie down. Lol. 

  

Last two weeks, I went again to Cafe Rumah Hijau with my girlfriends to celebrate Emie’s birthday. This time, we were having lunch and definitely tried out the Nasi Ayam Penyet. This plate was served to us. I wasn’t satisfied with the presentation and the sambal was too sweet rather than spicy. I couldn’t stand spicy food, however I managed to eat the sambal. Meaning that the sambal is not spicy. Despite the sambal, I love the chicken. They put so much ‘rempah’ which added extra taste to the chicken. Overall, I could only give 3 stars for this menu. 

8 thoughts on “Selfood moment #3: Cafe Rumah Hijau

  1. It has? Heard a lot about this place – lots of praises, also some not too favourable feedback, can’t remember what now. I sure would want to go and try though…and no grilled chicken chop for me, thank you. I am more into our local cuisine – I love ayam penyet but I like the one at Bandong here where they wrap the rice in banana leaf and steam, extra fragrant, very very nice.

  2. Back to your Selfood gag?! Haha.

    Love the food pictures. Look appetizing. I love the 1st time I had it there. Tender and flavourish. The sambal was spicy.

    But when I had it the 2nd time and ordered for my cny catering, the chickens were rather dry and tough. After that I have not gone back.

Leave a Reply

